Physiology of Chinese Medicine.

There are three levels in classical Traditional Chinese physiology:
  1. The external level of the 12 meridian channels, which maintain the balance within the organism and between the organism and its environment. These channels are considered prone to attack by environmental factors, such as: Wind, Cold, Damp, Dust and Heat. Problems at this level tend to be of an acute nature, and are relatively easy to cure.
  2. The deep level, here are the 12 organs which are classified into 5 elements, namely Fire, Earth, Metal,Water and Wood. The internal organs are attacked by the internal causes, which usually refers to damage caused by an excess of the five emotions: Excitement or joy, sympathy, grief, fear or shock and anger. The internal organs are also affected by unhealthy food and a bad lifestyle. Diseases of the internal organs are more difficult to cure than diseases of the 12 channels.
  3. Between the internal organs and the 12 channels is an intermediate area which according to Traditional Chinese Medicine is composed of a network of deep energy channels and the 5 groups of tissues: Blood, Qi and essences; soft tissues and fluid, skin and skin hair; bones, joints, cartilage and head hair, and muscles and tendons.
Chinese Physiology


Traditional Chinese Medicine Index

Traditional Medicine Network Home

Copyright Traditional Medicine Network 2001